Palkhi

Palki festival showcases the distinctive feature of the Maharashtrian culture. This is a 1000-year-old tradition, which has been following by the warkaris (people who follow the wari, a fundamental ritual). People perform collective singing, dancing, chanting (Dnyanba-Tukaram in what are called as Dindis or organised group of warkaris) to the holy town of Pandharpur in Hindu months of Ashadh (June-July) and Karthik (November-December).
sant-dnyaneshwar-palki-2011_vishal-tomar_0131
i happened to be in pune at that time and,

We were rushing to get to someplace,
We were already late,
And the Plaki was on,
The celebrations, we are rushing
The dance, we are rushing,
And the music!

Oh that’s it, we have to stop and go!
We need to be out there celebrating!

The people, form 5 to 70 or may be even 80,
Everyone dancing, moving to the beat
Singing with all their heart

With so much hope, faith and belief
I don’t know how much of what everyone has,
But everyone has some reason to be here!
There is something that draws all these people!

Oh the color, the expressions and the joy in their faces,
I have never felt anything like that before,

How I wished I had a camera,
I wished I had a recorder,
I wished I had something unique to capture the feeling,
Then I realized I have a pen,
I am putting in everything thing that I felt over there,
“Hoping” it reaches you.

Leave a Reply

